It was nephew’s birthday and I just decided to bake a cake. Searching the net I found a simple recipe from allrecipes.com and that was it. The cake turned out nice and moist.

You need to take care to measure everything properly.

1 Cup Sugar powdered

1/2 Cup Butter/ Any vegetable oil

2 Eggs

1 Tsp vanilla flavor

1 1/2 Cups All-Purpose flour

1 3/4 Tsp Baking powder

3-4 Tbsp Cocoa powder

1/2 Cup Milk

I used vegetable oil for the recipe.

  1. preheat oven to 175 deg Celsius .
  2. Grease the baking tin with oil followed by dusting it with a little flour.
  3. In a bowl mix the oil and sugar till its smooth.
  4. Beat in the eggs one at a time and add the vanilla flavor.
  5. In a separate bowl mix the baking powder, cocoa powder and the flour.
  6. Combine the flour into the egg mixture .
  7. finally add milk and combine to get a smooth mixture.
  8. Pour into the baking dish and bake for 30-40 minutes (until the knife comes out clean)

I also wanted to put some icing on top so here it is:

1 Cup Sugar

1/2 Cup (Cocoa powder, Milk, Butter )

1 Tsp Vanilla flavor

Use only butter and No oil. 🙂

  1. Combine all the ingredients and bring to boil and let it cook for 5 mins (until it thickens slightly).
  2. Allow it to cool and beat well.
  3. Spread on top of Cooled cake.

Since I decided to do all of this in the last minute I didn’t allow the icing to cool .

Hence the thin consistency of the icing but it didn’t matter at all. My nephew was very happy. 🙂 Next time I make I’ll give it some time.

Hope you’ll try it too… 🙂

